

## Information Science Committee Meeting Minutes Monday, Monday, November 15, 2021 3:00-4:30 PM

**In attendance (virtually):** Jessica Vitak, Pamela Duffy, Fabian Faccio, Tetyana Bezbabna, Galina Reitz, Vedat Diker, Scott Mobarry (SG student rep.), Ge Gao

Absent/Excused: Kate Izsak, Ron Padron, Animbom Tansinda (CP student rep.)

- 1. The Committee reviewed and voted on the proposal to convert the following special topic courses to permanent numbers:
  - a. INST408L *Leading and Sustaining a Culture of Innovation* to be converted to INST407. This course is a part of the InfoSci Technology Innovation Leadership minor offered at the Shady Grove campus.
    - i. Presented by Galina Reitz. Was taught for the first time during the Fall 2021 semester by Brian Hawthorne (iSchool adjunct).
    - ii. The votes were as follows: 8-yes, 0-no, 0-abstain, 1-absent
  - INST408 T \_funadamentals of Technology Innovation to be converted to INST363. This course is a part of the InfoSci Technology Innovation Leadership minor offered at the Shady Grove campus.
    - i. Presented by Galina Reitz. Was taught for the first time during the Fall 2021 semester by Sara-Jayne Terp (iSchool full-time faculty).
    - ii. The votes were as follows: 8-yes, 0-no, 0-abstain, 1-absent
- 2. The Committee reviewed and voted on the following new course proposal:
  - a. INST408xx *Risk Management Leadership in the Information Age* the course is part of the Information Risk Management, Ethics, and Privacy minor offered by the InfoSci program at the Shady Grove campus.
    - i. Presented by Galina Reitz. Developed and to be taught during the Spring 2022 semester by Michael Prakhye (iSchool adjunct)
    - ii. The votes were as follows: 8-yes, 0-no, 0-abstain, 1-absent
- 3. The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 PM.